Northville Grange Hall
Northville Grange HallLong Island Buddhist Meditation Center (LIBMC)
Rich History of an Iconic Sound Avenue Landmark Northville Grange Hall
In the course of its 186 year existence in Northville Grange Hall on Sound Avenue has undergone various reincarnations: It’s been a place of worship, a school, a social hub for local farmers, and, most recently, a meetinghouse for several different groups. Finally as of May 17th 2017 the Grange Hall now is a Buddhist Meditation Center. Everything inside the building is still original 1831 and the historical value will remain.
Like all old buildings, it needs continual tender loving care. Contributions to supports its preservation can be made to: Long Island Buddhist Meditation Center (LIBMC)
Grange Hall was originally located in Aquebogue and used as a Strict Congregationalist Meeting House. It was moved to Sound Avenue in 1834 and served as a church until 1860, when it was converted for use as a school by the Northville Academy, a private co-educational secondary school that enrolled more than 160 students. Over the years Grange Hall has been used as a gathering place for local farmers, a center for dances and social gatherings and a homeless shelter.
Up until 1972, the Grange Hall was known as the Sound Avenue Congregational Church. At that time the Jamesport and Sound Avenue Congregational churches decided to merge and First Parish Church was born. Services were held in the Sound Avenue church and the Jamesport Congregational Church, on Main Road in Jamesport, was rented to House of Praise and then the North Fork Unitarian Universalist Church. In 2008, First Parish sold the Jamesport church, which dates back to 1731, to the Jamesport Meeting House Preservation Trust.